Book Reviews

Ryders Ridge – Charlotte Nash – Book Review

Disclosure: This post may contain affiliate links from Amazon and other networks which means I earn from qualifying purchases.

Today we meet Daniella and Mark. Two people with very different lives. Let’s watch them fall in love and see how they deal with their different expectations.

Ryders Ridge

RYDERS RIDGE by Charlotte Nash

Publication Date: January 30, 2018
Publisher:  Flying Nun Publications
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Length: 310 Pages
Purchase: Amazon 
Story Rating: 5/ 5
Romance Rating: 4/5

Hey everyone! This ebook was kindly provided by the author/publisher via Netgalley  in exchange for my honest review.

Description:

Dr. Daniella Bell came to town with a secret. Caring and dedicated, she quickly wins the trust of her patients, and the attention of handsome cattle station heir, Mark Walker. But as their relationship grows, Daniella discovers that the local rumor mill can threaten both friendships and careers, and that a small town like Ryders Ridge also has secrets. Just as Daniella considers running away for a second time, a terrible accident forces her to face her past.

Fans of Kristan Higgins, Barbara Freethy or the TV-series ER may enjoy this connected series blending family, secrets, medical drama, and small-town contemporary romance.

Review:

Oh my goodness, ladies. This book had a story that went well beyond two people falling in love. I feel like I fell in love with a whole community. To be honest at times I felt like I was watching a movie  more than reading a book. The story line had so many layers and different sub-stories. The plot was meticulously planned out, and the characters were so well developed. It was a work of art to read.  Charlotte Nash captured the essence of the small town life and described the characters beautifully.

I grew up on a farm in rural Saskatchewan (that rectangle in the middle of Canada) so books that take place in small towns hold a special place in my heart. This one took me right back there. From the high turnover of doctors to trying to avoid being the topic of gossip, this book described the small town life perfectly.

This was a very wholesome book. It provided a glimpse into the emotional aspects and struggles of two people falling in love and didn’t pay much mind to the physical parts of their relationship. Which was for the best. The story was engaging enough I didn’t need sexy scenes to keep me interested.

I couldn’t help falling in love with Daniella and Mark. They were so normal and likeable. They each had their own pasts and struggles to overcome before the relationship could succeed. One thing I appreciated about this book is the characters maintained their own identities throughout their courtship.

It wasn’t an insta-love my entire world revolves around you story. There were sacrifices and compromise from both parties in the relationship. It was so refreshing to read.
I recommend this book for anyone looking for a good read. It’s long and there’s a lot going on so you might not want to skim it. I’d recommend planning to read it over a weekend. No doubt it will leave you with a smile on your face.

 

10 Comments

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: