Laugh Out Loud Funny Books
Book Recommendations,  Bookish

Funny Books that will Make You Laugh

Disclosure: This post may contain affiliate links from Amazon and other networks which means I earn from qualifying purchases.

Don’t you just love funny books, movies and music? I’m sure we’ve all had times in our life when we could use a good laugh. Have you ever read a funny book simply because you thought it would cheer you up?

Books are an amazing way to get lost in another world and forget about the things that are getting you down. Sometimes, if a book is really well written it can even elicit a laugh.

Those are my favorite, especially when I’ve been having a bad day.

Related: Must Read Biographies

Now, I totally understand some people don’t like romantic comedy books or romance in general. I can respect that, which is why I’ve made you this wonderful list of non-romantic comedy books (that’s just a super clever way of saying ‘funny books’)

Truth be told, I haven’t read all the books on this list. I want to, heck I want to read every book ever written. Time, unfortunately, isn’t on my side. So I’ll read as much as I can, try to tame my ever growing to-read list and keep sharing all the amazing book I come across with you lovely folks.

Laugh Out Loud Funny Books

Here is the list you’ve been so patiently waiting for.

Laugh out Loud Funny Books

A WALK IN THE WOODS

by Bill Bryson

funny books a A WALK IN THE WOODS by Bill Bryson

 

297 pages | Anchor Books | December 26, 2006

Check Prices

Who would have thought a book about hiking could be funny? Certainly not me. But, I laughed, a lot.

View Synopsis

The Appalachian Trail stretches from Georgia to Maine and covers some of the most breathtaking terrain in America–majestic mountains, silent forests, sparking lakes. If you’re going to take a hike, it’s probably the place to go. And Bill Bryson is surely the most entertaining guide you’ll find. Read More


Related: Best Contemporary Romance Novels

BOSSYPANTS

by Tina Fey

funny books BOSSYPANTS by tina fey

 

283 Pages | Regan Arthur Books | April 5, 2011

Check Prices

Review after review promises this book will make you laugh out loud. Who doesn’t need that from time to time? If you’re interested, she narrates the audiobook which in my opinion makes it that much better.

View Synopsis

Before Liz Lemon, before “Weekend Update,” before “Sarah Palin,” Tina Fey was just a young girl with a dream: a recurring stress dream that she was being chased through a local airport by her middle-school gym teacher. She also had a dream that one day she would be a comedian on TV.

She has seen both these dreams come true. Read More


HOW TO BE A WOMAN

by Cautlin Moran

funny books HOW TO BE A WOMAN by Caitlin Moran

 

312 Pages | Ebury Press | June 16, 2011

Check Prices

This book is a refreshing and hilarious take on feminism. Offering frank discussion on topics such as binge drinking, drug use, and promiscuity I wasn’t sure this book would succeed in making light of such topics, but the author did a wonderful job.

View Synopsis

Though they have the vote and the Pill and haven’t been burned as witches since 1727, life isn’t exactly a stroll down the catwalk for modern women. They are beset by uncertainties and questions: Why are they supposed to get Brazilians? Why do bras hurt? Why the incessant talk about babies? And do men secretly hate them?
Read More


Related: Best New Adult Romance of 2018

HYPERBOLE AND A HALF: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayham and Other Things that Happened

by Allie Brosh

funny books hyperbole and a half by allie brosh

 

371 Pages | Gallery Books |October 29, 2013

Check Prices

Sometimes, not only do I need a good laugh but I also need a break from the pages upon pages of text I usually lose myself in. Hyperbole and a Half never lets me down.

I have no doubt this book will make you smile.

View Synopsis

This is a book I wrote. Because I wrote it, I had to figure out what to put on the back cover to explain what it is. I tried to write a long, third-person summary that would imply how great the book is and also sound vaguely authoritative–like maybe someone who isn’t me wrote it–but I soon discovered that I’m not sneaky enough to pull it off convincingly. Read More


I DON’T CARE ABOUT YOUR BAND: What I learned from Indie Rockers, Trust Funders, Pornographers, Felons, Faux-Sensitive Hipsters, and Other Guys I’ve Dated

by Julia Klausner

funny books i don’t care about your band by juile klausner

 

256 Pages | Gotham | February 2, 2010

Check Prices

If you haven’t realized by now, I’m a sucker for love stories. The other side of that coin is that I’m also a sucker for funny stories of bad dates and ridiculous partners. Which is really just my long way of saying this book is kind my dream come true. Plus, it always makes me feel a bit better about myself when someone has gone on more bad dates than I have. This book is full of truths anyone who has so much as tried to go on a date will relate to.

View Synopsis

In the tradition of Cynthia Heimel and Chelsea Handler, and with the boisterous iconoclasm of Amy Sedaris, Julie Klausner’s candid and funny debut I Don’t Care About Your Band sheds light on the humiliations we endure to find love–and the lessons that can be culled from the wreckage.

I Don’t Care About Your Band posits that lately the worst guys to date are the ones who seem sensitive.Read More


Related: Books Becoming Movies in 2019

IS EVERYONE HANGING OUT WITHOUT ME (and other concerns)

by Mindy Kaling

funny books IS EVERYONE HANGING OUT WITHOUT ME (and other concerns) by mindy kaling

 

222 Pages | Crown Archetype | November 1, 2011

Check Prices

Tell me you haven’t had this thought at some point in your life?

View Synopsis

Mindy Kaling has lived many lives: the obedient child of immigrant professionals, a timid chubster afraid of her own bike, a Ben Affleck–impersonating Off-Broadway performer and playwright, and, finally, a comedy writer and actress prone to starting fights with her friends and coworkers with the sentence “Can I just say one last thing about this, and then I swear I’ll shut up about it?” Read More


Related: Books for Reluctant Readers

MY HORIZONTAL LIFE: a Collection of One Night Stands

by Chelsea Handler

funny books my horizontal life by chelsea handler

 

213 Pages | Bloomsbury USA | June 6, 2005

Check Prices

When I first saw the title, I thought this was going to be a book about weight loss. Turns out it’s about the better kind of horizontal. Yay!

View Synopsis

You’ve either done it or know someone who has: the one-night stand, the familiar outcome of a night spent at a bar, sometimes the sole payoff for your friend’s irritating wedding, or the only relief from a disastrous vacation. Often embarrassing and uncomfortable, occasionally outlandish, but most times just a necessary and irresistible evil, the one-night stand is a social rite as old as sex itself and as common as a bar stool. Read More


SOMEONE COULD GET HURT: a Memoir of Twenty-First-Century Parenthood

by Drew Magary

funny books someone could get hurt by drew magary

 

245 Pages | Gotham | May 2, 2013

Check Prices

This is a book I often give to most of the expectant parents in my life.

View Synopsis

In brutally honest and funny stories, Magary reveals how American mothers and fathers cope with being in over their heads (getting drunk while trick-or-treating, watching helplessly as a child defiantly pees in a hotel pool, engaging in role-play with a princess-crazed daughter), and how stepping back can sometimes make all the difference (talking a toddler down from the third story of a netted-in playhouse, allowing children to make little mistakes in the kitchen to keep them from making the bigger ones in life). It’s a celebration of all the surprises—joyful and otherwise—that come with being part of a real family. Read More


WAKE UP, SIR!

by Jonathan Ames

funny books wake up, sir by jonathan ames

 

352 Pages | Scribner | July 12, 2005

Check Prices

This promises to tell the story of a young alcoholic writer and his personal valet. Who doesn’t want to read that story?

View Synopsis

Alan Blair, the hero of Wake Up, Sir!, is a young, loony writer with numerous problems of the mental, emotional, sexual, spiritual, and physical variety. He’s very good at problems. But luckily for Alan, he has a personal valet named Jeeves, who does his best to sort things out for his troubled master. And Alan does find trouble wherever he goes. He embarks on a perilous and bizarre road journey, his destination being an artists colony in Saratoga Springs. Read More


WHY WE SUCK: a Feel Good Guide to Staying Fat, Loud, Lazy and Stupid (Hoops #2)

by Denis Leary

funny books why we suck by denis leary

 

240 Pages | Viking Adult | November 18, 2008

Check Prices

What can I say about this? The title was enough to make me smile. Plus I’m always looking for a reason to drop the diet…

View Synopsis

“A pissed off Leary is the best Leary,” says one critic of the writer and comic. In Why We Suck, Dr. Denis Leary uses his common sense, and his biting and hilarious take on the world, to attack the politically correct, the hypocritical, the obese, the thin–basically everyone who takes themselves too seriously. He does so with the extra oomph of a doctorate bestowed upon him by his alma mater Emerson College. Read More


YOU DESERVE A DRINK: Boozy Misadventures and Tales of Debauchery

by Mamrie Hart

funny books you deserve a drink mamrie hart

 

274 Pages | Plume | May 26, 2015

Check Prices

Truth be told, I have this thought way too often. We all love a good drinking story, don’t we? Especially if we’re not the one being embarrassed.

View Synopsis

Mamrie Hart is a drinking star with a Youtube problem. With over a million subscribers to her cult-hit video series “You Deserve a Drink,” Hart has been entertaining viewers with a combination of tasty libations and raunchy puns since 2011. Hart also co-wrote/co-starred in Dirty Thirty and Camp Takota with Grace Helbig and Hannah Hart.

Finally, Hart has compiled her best drinking stories—and worst hangovers—into one hilarious volume. Read More


Buy on Amazon

Let’s Talk

What are you go to books when you need a laugh? I’m always on the lookout for a quick pick me up so share all your recommendations.

As always,

Love, Sawyer Logo

Laugh Out Loud Funny Books

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: